Bamboo Wins Awit Awards’ Best Performance by a Male Recording Artist

The best of Filipino music for the year 2011 was given an excellent recognition during the 25th Awit Awards last Tuesday, November 27, 2012 at the newly opened Activity Center in Glorietta 1, Makati. Among the major awards given, the Best Performance by a Male Recording Artist was awarded to Bamboo Mañalac for the single ‘Questions’ under his debut album ‘No Water No Moon’.

Bamboo thanked his family, his manager Pancho Gonzales, Polyeast Records, the musicians behind the success of the NWNM album, his fans and everyone who took time to listen to his music. “Thank you for seeing the bigger picture,” he said.

A few performances from the country’s most sought-after artists also surprised everyone present at the awards night: Zia Quizon, Moonstar88, The Company, Luke Mijares, Zendee Rose, Young JV, Bryan Termulo, Callalily, Erik Santos, Ebe Dancel, Gloc-9, Richard Poon, Gary Valenciano and Bamboo Mañalac.

Based from the official list of nominees released by the Philippine Association of the Record Industry, Inc. (PARI), Jonathan Ong leads the nominations with seven. He was followed by Noel Cabangon, Ebe Dancel and Jonathan Manalo, each receiving five nominations.

Moreover, the awards night concluded with PolyEast Records’ artists bringing home the major awards namely: BAMBOO MAÑALAC – Best Performance by a Male Recording Artist (Questions); ZIA QUIZON – Best performance by a Female Recording Artist (Ako Na Lang), Best Performance by a New Female Recording Artist (Ako Na Lang), Song of the Year (Ako Na Lang – Jungee Marcelo), Best Engineered Recording (Simple Girl – Nikki Cunanan) ; SLAPSHOCK – Best Album Package (Team Manila Graphic Design Studio); DOLPHY – Dangal ng Musikang Pilipino Award; and GARY GRANADA – Dangal ng Musikang Pilipino Award.

The sight when Bamboo sang  the song In This Life as a closing number for the Awards Night with the lyrics “Sa buhay na ito, tayo’y manatili. Huminga ng malalim, huminga ng malalim..” echoing inside the activity center as the people walk past each other congratulating and saying words of thanks indeed marked another year of excellent Filipino music.

Bamboo’s speech:

Thank you Awit Awards 

I’d like to thank my manager Pancho Gonzales and the rest of the Mgmt team. Thanks for putting in all the long hours..greatly appreciated.

Thank you to my label Polyeast and everyone who works behind the scenes there

I’d like to say thanks to the musicians i work with Ria,Kakoy, Simon,Jun Jun, Ardie, Anjo, Chino, Chico, Nikki, Jano, Chaitanya and of course to all their better halves..thank you for letting us kids play together

Thanks to the folks at ASAP..It’s been quite a year so thank you for being just really nice and making me feel like part of the family.

And to the fans who’ve continued to support me through the years. Thank you for listening. Thank you for continuing to come to the shows. Thank you for organizing programs so we’re not just singing about change but actually doing our part no matter how small for our own communities. Thank you for seeing the bigger picture.

And a special thanks to all our brothers and sisters overseas..our OFW’s from every corner of the globe you’ve given us a new stage to play on and you are keeping this scene here afloat. Thank you for not forgetting. Thank you for those days when the question comes up” Should i go watch Coldplay or Bamboo”. Thank you for making the wrong choice. I hope you never regret the decision.

And last to my family..I’m on the road for day, months or weeks and when i do get home..i come home a version of myself.

it usually takes me a few days to reboot and come back. This is the life i have chosen. This is the work that brings me joy So thank you for your patience..your understanding and love

My light
My peace
My love

Thank you

Merry Christmas


Complete list of 25th Awit Awards Winners:

Best-Selling Album of The Year: “One Heart” by Sarah Geronimo

Album of the Year: “Panaginip” by Noel Cabangon

Song of the Year: “Ako Na Lang” by Zia Quizon

Best Performance by a Male Recording Artist: “Questions” by Bamboo

Best Performance by a Female Recording Artist: “Ako Na Lang” by Zia Quizon

Best Collaboration Recording: Gloc-9 and Sheng Belmonte for “Walang Natira”

Best Group Recording Artists: “Ulap” by Voyz Avenue/Takeoff

Best Inspirational and Religious Recording: “Sino Ako” by Fatima Soriano

Best Christmas Recording: “Pasko Ng Pagbibigayan” by Noel Cabangon

Best Musical Arrangement: “Tuloy na Tuloy Pa Rin ang Pasko” by Albert Tamayo

Best Vocal Arrangement: “O Holy Night” by Jay-R

Best Engineered Recording: “Simple Girl” (by Zia Quizon) engineered by Nikki Cunanan

Best Album Package: Kinse Kalibre (Slapshock), album concept by Team Manila

Best Performance by a Child: Maria Aragon for “Born This Way”

Best World Music Recording: “Para sa Tao” by Humanfolk

Best Novelty Recording: “Nananana” by Randy Santiago, Rico J. Puno, and John Estrada

Best Rap Recording: “Walang Natira” by Gloc-9 feat. Sheng Belmonte

Best Dance Recording: “Connection” by Chelo A. feat. Q-York and Jay-R

Best Song Written for Movie/TV/Stage Play: “Sabay Tayo” (from “The Biggest Loser Philippines”) by Mayonnaise

Best Jazz Recording: “Sa Iyo Lang” by Tricia Garcia

Music Video of the Year: “20/20″ by Pupil

Best Performance by New Group Recording Artists: Thyro & Yumi for “Kiss (Never Let Me Go)”

Best Performance by a New Male Recording Artist: Ney Dimaculangan for “Ligaw”

Best Performance by A New Female Recording Artist: Zia Quizon for “Ako Na Lang”

Best Ballad Recording: “Hindi Kita Iiwan” by Sam Milby

Best R&B Recording: “Kiss (Never Let Me Go)” by Thyro & Yumi

Best Rock/Alternative Recording: “Save Me” by Letter Day Story

I-Gateway Mobile Philippines Inc.’s Most Downloaded Song for 2011: “Nang Dahil sa Pag-ibig” by Bugoy Drilon

EGG’s Most Downloaded Song for 2011: “Sino Nga Ba Siya?” by Sarah Geronimo

I-Gateway Mobile Philippines Inc.’s Most Downloaded Artist for 2011: Sabrina

ABS-CBN Interactive’s Most Downloaded Song for 2011: “Hey Daydreamer” by Somedaydream

ABS-CBN Interactive’s Most Downloaded Artist for 2011: SomedayDream

Special Citation from the PARI for the OMB’s Fight Against Piracy: Ronnie Rickets and Amb. James Dy

Special Citation: Jose Mari Chan

Dangal ng Musikang Pilipino Award: Regine Velasquez, Kuh Ledesma, Gary Granada, Dolphy, and Eraserheads


By: Sheena Ferrer